Medications · September 29, 2026 · Memios · 23 min read

Potassium Chloride

Well established. Its approved job is to raise potassium in people who are low, or to stop them going low.

Potassium Chloride (KCl)K-TabKlor-ConMicro-Kmedicine research
Chemical structure of Potassium chloride, drawn in navy on pale linen.

TLDR

  • Well established. Its approved job is to raise potassium in people who are low, or to stop them going low.
  • What it is: Potassium chloride is a simple inorganic salt made of potassium and chloride ions.
  • Main use: Treatment of hypokalaemia (low blood potassium), with or without metabolic alkalosis, in digitalis intoxication and in hypokalaemic familial periodic paralysis (limited evidence).
  • Other approved uses: Prevention of hypokalaemia in people at particular risk, such as those on digitalis or with significant cardiac arrhythmias (limited evidence).
  • Off-label uses (not on the FDA label): Lowering blood pressure in hypertension (well supported); Reducing cardiovascular events as a potassium-enriched salt substitute (limited evidence).
  • Recommended dose: not established. For potassium as a nutrient, a 2019 NASEM committee found the data insufficient to derive an Estimated Average Requirement and instead set Adequate Intakes based on the highest median intakes in healthy children and adults: 3,400 mg/day for men and 2,600 mg/day for women aged 19 and over.
  • Studied dose (a trial dose, not a recommendation): The elderly-care-facility trial provided a salt substitute of 62.5% sodium chloride and 25% potassium chloride in place of usual salt for two years. Findings citing that trial: 1 for, 1 against, 1 on harm.
  • Upper limit: No Tolerable Upper Intake Level exists for potassium: the 2019 NASEM committee did not set one.
  • What goes wrong: 5 findings on harm. The potassium-containing salt substitute raised serum potassium and produced more biochemical hyperkalaemia, though without clinical consequences over two years.
  • Interactions: 5 recorded, including Potassium-sparing diuretics (spironolactone, triamterene, amiloride), ACE inhibitors (captopril, enalapril and others), Potassium in food, in anyone whose kidneys cannot excrete it, Potassium-enriched salt substitutes (LoSalt and similar reduced-sodium salts).
  • Common myth: Potassium chloride is only a mineral, so taking extra cannot really hurt you.

What it is

Potassium chloride is a simple inorganic salt made of potassium and chloride ions. As a medicine it is sold as extended-release wax-matrix or microencapsulated tablets and capsules, effervescent tablets, oral solutions and powders, and intravenous solutions; the same salt is the potassium source in reduced-sodium salt substitutes. Potassium is the most abundant positively charged ion inside human cells, and the body needs it for normal cell function.

What the research says

Its approved job is to raise potassium in people who are low, or to stop them going low. The evidence for that is largely physiological rather than outcome-based: comparative work shows oral tablets normalise serum potassium in about 42 hours, but randomised trials of hard outcomes in hypokalaemia are essentially absent. Away from that indication, potassium supplementation lowers blood pressure: a meta-analysis of 23 trials in 1,213 people with essential hypertension found systolic pressure fell by 4.25 mmHg and diastolic by 2.53 mmHg versus placebo, and a dose-response meta-analysis found the effect is roughly ten times larger in people with hypertension than in people without. In a two-year cluster-randomised trial in Chinese elderly care facilities, a salt substitute containing 25% potassium chloride lowered systolic pressure by 7.1 mmHg and cut cardiovascular events by 40%, but did not reduce total mortality and did increase biochemical hyperkalaemia. The harms are dose- and kidney-dependent: the label warns that potassium salts can cause fatal hyperkalaemia and cardiac arrest in anyone whose kidneys cannot excrete potassium, and that solid oral forms can ulcerate the gut.

Evidence grade: Well established.

How it works

Drug class: Electrolyte replacement (potassium salt)

Potassium is the main positively charged particle inside cells. Its concentration difference across the cell membrane is what lets nerves fire, muscles contract and the kidneys work. Swallowing potassium chloride simply replaces potassium that has been lost or not eaten, restoring that gradient; the chloride part matters when potassium has been lost alongside acid, as in vomiting. (Source 1)

What it is used for

  • This is the labelled indication. The evidence is that oral potassium chloride reliably raises serum potassium - in one 60-patient comparison, tablets normalised it in a mean of 42 hours - but we found no randomised trial testing whether correcting hypokalaemia with oral potassium chloride changes clinical outcomes such as arrhythmia or death. Evidence: limited. (Source 2)
  • The label limits this to people who would be at particular risk if potassium fell, and states explicitly that potassium salts are often unnecessary in people taking low-dose diuretics for uncomplicated hypertension who eat normally. Evidence: limited. (Source 2)
  • Two meta-analyses agree that potassium supplementation lowers blood pressure and that the effect is concentrated in people who already have hypertension: about 4.25/2.53 mmHg versus placebo in 23 trials, and about 5.3/3.62 mmHg per 50 mmol/day of extra potassium in hypertensive subjects against 0.5/0.12 mmHg in people without hypertension. Evidence: established. (Source 3)
  • In a two-year cluster-randomised trial in 48 elderly care facilities (1,612 residents), replacing usual salt with a 25% potassium chloride substitute lowered systolic pressure by 7.1 mmHg and reduced cardiovascular events (HR 0.60), but had no effect on total mortality and increased biochemical hyperkalaemia. Evidence: limited. (Source 4)

Interactions

  • Potassium-sparing diuretics (spironolactone, triamterene, amiloride) (label): These drugs already stop the kidney losing potassium. Adding a potassium salt on top can push potassium to dangerous levels, and the label says outright that hypokalaemia should not be treated this way. (Source 5)
  • ACE inhibitors (captopril, enalapril and others) (label): ACE inhibitors suppress aldosterone, so the kidney holds on to potassium. Combining them with a potassium supplement needs close monitoring of serum potassium. (Source 5)
  • Potassium in food, in anyone whose kidneys cannot excrete it (clinical trial): This is the interaction most easily missed, because it needs no supplement at all. In someone with chronic kidney disease, or on an ACE inhibitor, ARB or potassium-sparing diuretic, even a potassium intake below the recommended level can cause hyperkalaemia. (Source 6)
  • Potassium-enriched salt substitutes (LoSalt and similar reduced-sodium salts) (clinical trial): These products are potassium chloride. A two-year randomised trial used a substitute of 62.5% sodium chloride and 25% potassium chloride, and found it raised mean serum potassium and produced more biochemical hyperkalaemia. Anyone already taking prescribed potassium chloride is therefore taking a second, unlabelled source if they use one. (Source 4)
  • Magnesium (and magnesium depletion) (theoretical): Low magnesium makes the kidney lose potassium, so potassium given alone may not correct while magnesium is still low. Where both are low, the literature says they should be treated together. (Source 7)

Stopping it

  • There is no withdrawal syndrome from stopping potassium chloride; what matters is whether the cause of the potassium loss is still there. The label frames it the other way round: where a diuretic caused the hypokalaemia, lowering the diuretic dose may remove the need for the supplement altogether. (Source 2)
  • The label also names circumstances in which the drug should be stopped at once rather than tapered: symptoms suggesting the tablet has ulcerated or obstructed the gut. (Source 8)

What goes wrong

The potassium-containing salt substitute raised serum potassium and produced more biochemical hyperkalaemia, though without clinical consequences over two years. (Source 4)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 1,612 participants in 48 facilities.
  • Who: older residents of elderly care facilities in China, a group at higher risk of hyperkalaemia.
  • How long: 2 years.
  • Result: The abstract reports increased mean serum potassium and more frequent biochemical hyperkalaemia, but no association with adverse clinical outcomes. It does not give the hyperkalaemia rates in the abstract text.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract read.

Limit of this finding: The trial describes its salt substitute as "62.5% NaCl and 25% KCl", which adds up to 87.5% rather than 100%; the paper does not say what the remaining share was. We have quoted the figures as printed rather than repairing them. Treat the exact composition as uncertain: what is dependable is that roughly a quarter of the product was potassium chloride, and the blood pressure, event and serum potassium results are not affected by the discrepancy.

From a safety standpoint, salt substitute increased mean serum potassium and led to more frequent biochemical hyperkalemia, but was not associated with adverse clinical outcomes.

In people whose kidneys cannot excrete potassium, potassium salts can cause hyperkalaemia and cardiac arrest, and the label states this can develop rapidly with no symptoms. (Source 5)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not stated in the label.
  • Who: people with chronic renal disease or any other condition impairing potassium excretion.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: No incidence figures are given in the label. It states this occurs most commonly with intravenous potassium but also happens with oral potassium.
  • Funding: regulatory position, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, K-TAB label 2014.

In patients with impaired mechanisms for excreting potassium, the administration of potassium salts can produce hyperkalemia and cardiac arrest.

Solid oral potassium chloride can ulcerate or narrow the gut, and the reported rate differs about fiftyfold between formulations. (Source 8)

  • Official position, Very low certainty.
  • Size: spontaneous adverse reaction reports; denominators not given.
  • Who: people taking solid oral potassium chloride.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: Small bowel lesions reported at 40-50 per 100,000 patient years with enteric-coated preparations versus less than one per 100,000 patient years with sustained-release wax matrix formulations. These are spontaneous-report rates, which systematically undercount.
  • Funding: regulatory position, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, K-TAB label 2014.

Based on spontaneous adverse reaction reports, enteric-coated preparations of potassium chloride are associated with an increased frequency of small bowel lesions (40-50 per 100,000 patient years) compared to sustained-release wax matrix formulations (less than one per 100,000 patient years).

Three people with no previous stomach disease developed acute gastric ulcers after taking enteric-coated potassium chloride. (Source 9)

  • Case series, Very low certainty.
  • Size: 3 patients.
  • Who: adults with no previous gastroduodenal disease.
  • How long: symptoms in 2 cases immediately after a single large dose, in the third after 3 days on a smaller dose.
  • Result: Acute gastric ulcers of the antral region in all three. A case series of three cannot give a rate.
  • Funding: not stated.

Three patients who had never suffered previously from any gastroduodenal disease developed acute gastric ulcers of the antral region, apparently due to the intake of potassium chloride in enteric-coated tablets.

The FDA-approved label restricts controlled-release potassium chloride tablets to people who cannot tolerate, refuse or will not reliably take liquid or effervescent potassium, because of reports of gut ulceration and bleeding with this dosage form. (Source 2)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not applicable; this is a regulatory restriction, not a study.
  • Who: patients for whom potassium chloride is being prescribed.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: No rate is given in this section. The restriction opens the INDICATIONS AND USAGE section in capital letters and rests on spontaneous reports of intestinal and gastric ulceration and bleeding with controlled-release preparations; the same label elsewhere puts small-bowel lesions at 40-50 per 100,000 patient years for enteric-coated products and less than one per 100,000 patient years for sustained-release wax matrix products.
  • Funding: not applicable (regulatory label)

BECAUSE OF REPORTS OF INTESTINAL AND GASTRIC ULCERATION AND BLEEDING WITH CONTROLLED-RELEASE POTASSIUM CHLORIDE PREPARATIONS, THESE DRUGS SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR THOSE PATIENTS WHO CANNOT TOLERATE OR REFUSE TO TAKE LIQUID OR EFFERVESCENT POTASSIUM PREPARATIONS, OR FOR PATIENTS WITH WHOM THERE IS A PROBLEM OF COMPLIANCE WITH THESE PREPARATIONS.

What the evidence supports

Potassium supplementation lowered blood pressure modestly but significantly in people with essential hypertension. (Source 3)

  • Meta-analysis, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: 1,213 participants across 23 randomised trials (from 9,059 articles screened)
  • Who: adults with essential hypertension.
  • How long: not stated in the abstract read.
  • Result: Systolic mean difference -4.25 mmHg (95% CI -5.96 to -2.53; I2 = 41%); diastolic -2.53 mmHg (95% CI -4.05 to -1.02; I2 = 65%). The trials are small: 1,213 people across 23 trials is a median of roughly 50 per trial.
  • Funding: independent (Vice-Chancellor for Research and Technology, Hamadan University of Medical Sciences)

Limit of this finding: The sentence in which this paper sums itself up is garbled in the original: it says potassium supplementation "has a modest but significant impact BP", with a word missing, and calls potassium "a safe medication with no important adverse effects" while recommending it as an adjuvant treatment. We have quoted the paper as printed. Read the blood-pressure numbers, which are what the trials measured; do not read the paper’s own safety assurance as evidence of safety, because these 23 small trials were not designed or sized to detect harm such as hyperkalaemia.

Compared to placebo, potassium supplementation resulted in modest but significant reductions in both SBP (MD -4.25 mmHg; 95% CI: -5.96 to -2.53; I2 = 41%) and DBP (MD -2.53 mmHg; 95% CI: -4.05 to -1.02; I2 = 65%).

In a two-year cluster-randomised trial, a salt substitute containing 25% potassium chloride lowered blood pressure and reduced cardiovascular events. (Source 4)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 1,612 participants (1,230 men, 382 women, aged 55 or older) in 48 residential elderly care facilities in China.
  • Who: older residents of elderly care facilities in China.
  • How long: 2 years.
  • Result: Systolic blood pressure -7.1 mmHg (95% CI -10.5 to -3.8); diastolic -1.9 mmHg (95% CI -3.6 to -0.2); cardiovascular events HR 0.60 (95% CI 0.38 to 0.96). Restricting the supply of salt, the other arm of the 2x2 design, had no effect on anything.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract read.

Limit of this finding: The trial describes its salt substitute as "62.5% NaCl and 25% KCl", which adds up to 87.5% rather than 100%; the paper does not say what the remaining share was. We have quoted the figures as printed rather than repairing them. Treat the exact composition as uncertain: what is dependable is that roughly a quarter of the product was potassium chloride, and the blood pressure, event and serum potassium results are not affected by the discrepancy.

Salt substitute also lowered diastolic blood pressure (–1.9 mmHg, 95% CI –3.6 to –0.2) and resulted in fewer cardiovascular events (hazard ratio (HR) 0.60, 95% CI 0.38–0.96),

Oral potassium chloride tablets normalised serum potassium in hypokalaemic patients in about 42 hours, faster and with less total potassium than giving injection vials by mouth. (Source 10)

  • Survey study, Very low certainty.
  • Size: 60 patients (30 per group)
  • Who: patients with hypokalaemia.
  • How long: March to June 2022.
  • Result: Mean time to normalisation 42.00 hours with tablets versus 84.57 hours with vials taken orally; the paper gives mean total potassium intake as "127.20 mEq/L" versus "280.03 mEq/L" [sic]. No significant difference in gastrointestinal complications and no patient needed endoscopy.
  • Funding: not stated.

Limit of this finding: The paper reports the total amount of potassium each group swallowed in mEq/L, which is a concentration, not an amount — a cumulative intake can only be given in mEq. We have quoted the figures as the paper prints them rather than converting them. Treat the two intake numbers as unreliable as stated; the time-to-normalisation figures (42.00 versus 84.57 hours) are not affected. This was also a 60-patient study the authors describe as descriptive-analytical and cross-sectional, not a randomised trial.

Results: The mean duration of serum potassium normalization was 42.00 hours for the "potassium chloride tablet" group and 84.57 hours for the "potassium chloride vials orally" group.

The approved indication is treatment and prevention of hypokalaemia, not general supplementation. (Source 2)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not applicable.
  • Who: people with or at particular risk of hypokalaemia.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: The label names hypokalaemia with or without metabolic alkalosis, digitalis intoxication, and hypokalaemic familial periodic paralysis, plus prevention in digitalised patients or patients with significant cardiac arrhythmias.
  • Funding: regulatory position, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, K-TAB label 2014.

For the treatment of patients with hypokalemia with or without metabolic alkalosis, in digitalis intoxication, and in patients with hypokalemic familial periodic paralysis.

A US expert committee concluded the evidence was insufficient to set a Tolerable Upper Intake Level for dietary potassium in adults with normal kidney function. (Source 11)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not applicable.
  • Who: adults with normal kidney function.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: No UL was set. The committee noted case reports of heart abnormalities and death from very large doses of potassium supplements but judged them insufficient to set a limit. This applies to dietary potassium, not to prescription potassium chloride in people with impaired excretion.
  • Funding: position of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (2019), reported by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2022)

Although case reports indicate that very large doses of potassium supplements can cause heart abnormalities and death, the NASEM committee concluded that these reports do not provide sufficient evidence to set a UL

What the evidence does not support

The same trial found no reduction in total mortality from the potassium-containing salt substitute. (Source 4)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 1,612 participants in 48 facilities.
  • Who: older residents of elderly care facilities in China.
  • How long: 2 years.
  • Result: Total mortality HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.63 to 1.13) - the confidence interval crosses 1. Progressive restriction of salt supply had no effect on any study outcome.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract read.

Limit of this finding: The trial describes its salt substitute as "62.5% NaCl and 25% KCl", which adds up to 87.5% rather than 100%; the paper does not say what the remaining share was. We have quoted the figures as printed rather than repairing them. Treat the exact composition as uncertain: what is dependable is that roughly a quarter of the product was potassium chloride, and the blood pressure, event and serum potassium results are not affected by the discrepancy.

but had no effect on total mortality (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.63–1.13).

The FDA label states that potassium salts are often unnecessary in people taking low-dose diuretics for uncomplicated essential hypertension who eat a normal diet. (Source 2)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not applicable.
  • Who: people on diuretics for uncomplicated essential hypertension.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: The label directs that serum potassium be checked periodically and that potassium-containing foods may be adequate for milder cases, with potassium salts reserved for more severe cases or where the diuretic dose cannot be adjusted.
  • Funding: regulatory position, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, K-TAB label 2014.

The use of potassium salts in patients receiving diuretics for uncomplicated essential hypertension is often unnecessary when such patients have a normal dietary pattern, and when low doses of the diuretic are used.

Where the evidence is mixed

In this dose-response meta-analysis the blood-pressure effect of extra potassium was far larger in people who already had hypertension than in people who did not, on evidence the authors themselves call limited by the small number of trials. (Source 12)

  • Meta-analysis, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: 10 RCTs (4 in people without hypertension, 6 in people with hypertension)
  • Who: adults with and without hypertension.
  • How long: not stated in the abstract read.
  • Result: Per 50 mmol/day increase in urinary potassium excretion: -0.5 mmHg systolic and -0.12 mmHg diastolic in people without hypertension, versus -5.3 mmHg systolic and -3.62 mmHg diastolic in people with hypertension. The authors limit their own conclusion: "While the findings offer valuable insights for refining dietary guidelines, caution is warranted due to the limited number of RCTs included in the analysis."
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract read.

a 50 mmol/day increase in urinary potassium excretion was associated with a 0.5 mmHg reduction in systolic BP (SBP) and a 0.12 mmHg reduction in diastolic BP (DBP) in subjects without hypertension, and a 5.3 mmHg reduction in SBP and a 3.62 mmHg reduction in DBP in subjects with hypertension.

Where the research disagrees

Whether potassium supplementation should be described as safe

  • Meta-analysis of oral potassium for essential hypertension (PLOS ONE, 2017), meta-analysis of 23 small randomised trials in 1,213 participants, in whom impaired kidney function would normally be an exclusion: Our findings indicated that potassium supplementation is a safe medication with no important adverse effects that has a modest but significant impact BP and may be recommended as an adjuvant antihypertensive agent for patients with essential hypertension. (Source 3)
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration, K-TAB prescribing information (2014), regulatory position covering all users, including those with impaired potassium excretion: Potentially fatal hyperkalemia can develop rapidly and can be asymptomatic. (Source 5)

How much a potassium-enriched salt substitute actually changes outcomes

  • DECIDE-Salt cluster-randomised trial (Nature Medicine, 2023), benefit side, cluster-randomised trial, 48 facilities, 1,612 participants, 2 years: Salt substitute also lowered diastolic blood pressure (–1.9 mmHg, 95% CI –3.6 to –0.2) and resulted in fewer cardiovascular events (hazard ratio (HR) 0.60, 95% CI 0.38–0.96), (Source 4)
  • The same trial, mortality result, the same cluster-randomised trial; the mortality confidence interval crosses 1: but had no effect on total mortality (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.63–1.13). (Source 4)

How much

  • Reference intake: For potassium as a nutrient, a 2019 NASEM committee found the data insufficient to derive an Estimated Average Requirement and instead set Adequate Intakes based on the highest median intakes in healthy children and adults: 3,400 mg/day for men and 2,600 mg/day for women aged 19 and over. For potassium chloride as a medicine, there is no reference intake at all - the dose is set by the prescriber against a measured serum potassium. (Source 13)
  • Upper limit: No Tolerable Upper Intake Level exists for potassium: the 2019 NASEM committee did not set one. As a separate position, the FDA-approved K-TAB prescribing information (2014) states that 20 mEq/day is typical for preventing hypokalaemia, that 40-100 mEq/day or more is used for treating potassium depletion, and that no more than 20 mEq should be given in a single dose. (Source 11)
  • Studied: The elderly-care-facility trial provided a salt substitute of 62.5% sodium chloride and 25% potassium chloride in place of usual salt for two years. (Source 4)
  • Studied: The dose-response meta-analysis expressed exposure as a 50 mmol/day increase in urinary potassium excretion rather than as a supplement dose. (Source 12)
  • Studied: In the 60-patient hypokalaemia comparison the tablet group received a mean total potassium intake the paper prints as 127.20 mEq/L and the oral-vial group 280.03 mEq/L before serum potassium normalised. The unit as printed is a concentration rather than an amount, so the figures should be read with that caution. (Source 10)

A common belief, and what the research shows

The belief: Potassium chloride is only a mineral, so taking extra cannot really hurt you.

What the research shows: It depends entirely on the kidneys. In healthy adults the US expert committee found "there is no evidence that high intakes of potassium cause hyperkalemia in adults with normal kidney function or other adverse effects." But the prescribing information warns that "In patients with impaired mechanisms for excreting potassium, the administration of potassium salts can produce hyperkalemia and cardiac arrest." and that "Potentially fatal hyperkalemia can develop rapidly and can be asymptomatic." The same label reports that solid oral forms can ulcerate the gut, at a reported 40-50 small bowel lesions per 100,000 patient years for enteric-coated products against less than one per 100,000 for wax matrix products.

Questions and answers

What is it?

Potassium chloride is a salt of potassium and chloride. Potassium is an essential nutrient and the most abundant positively charged ion inside human cells; chloride balances its charge. As a medicine it comes as slow-release tablets and capsules, powders, liquids and intravenous fluids, and it is also what gives reduced-sodium salt substitutes their salty taste. (Source 1)

What does it do in the body?

Potassium sits inside cells while sodium sits outside, and the difference between them is the electrical gradient that makes nerve signalling, muscle contraction and kidney filtering possible. Taking potassium chloride restores that gradient when potassium has been lost. Its blood-pressure effect comes from the same relationship with sodium. (Source 1)

Is it good or bad for you?

Good when potassium is low or blood pressure is high and the kidneys work normally; dangerous when the kidneys cannot get rid of it. Two meta-analyses show real blood-pressure lowering in hypertension, and a two-year trial of a potassium salt substitute reduced cardiovascular events. The same substance can cause fatal hyperkalaemia and cardiac arrest in someone with kidney disease or on an ACE inhibitor or potassium-sparing diuretic, and the label stresses that this can happen fast and without warning symptoms. (Source 5)

How do you get more of it?

Potassium is widely available from ordinary food, and the label itself says that where hypokalaemia is mild, potassium-containing foods may be enough. Reduced-sodium salt substitutes are concentrated potassium chloride: the trial substitute was 25% KCl. Prescription potassium chloride is the route used when diet is not sufficient, and the dose is set against a measured blood level. (Source 2)

If it is harmful, what reduces it?

Excess potassium is harmful rather than helpful, and the answer is to stop adding it and to treat the cause. People whose kidneys cannot excrete potassium, or who take ACE inhibitors, ARBs or potassium-sparing diuretics, are the group in whom potassium accumulates, and the guidance for them is to have intake from all sources reviewed rather than to self-adjust. (Source 6)

Why might someone be low in it or missing it?

Rarely from diet alone. Potassium is usually lost rather than under-eaten: through diarrhoea, through vomiting, through diuretics and other medicines, through laxative overuse, heavy sweating or dialysis. Low magnesium is a hidden contributor because it makes the kidneys leak potassium. Hypokalaemia affects up to 21% of hospitalised patients but is uncommon in healthy people with normal kidneys. (Source 7)

Which whole foods contain it or feed it?

Potassium is in a wide range of plant and animal foods and in drinks. Fruits, vegetables, some legumes such as soybeans, and potatoes are among the richest sources, and in US diets milk, coffee, tea and other non-alcoholic drinks plus potatoes supply the most overall. (Source 6)

What happens if you do not have it?

Mild shortfall causes constipation, fatigue, muscle weakness and general malaise. Moderate to severe hypokalaemia causes large volumes of dilute urine, glucose intolerance, muscle paralysis, poor breathing and heart rhythm disturbances, especially in people who already have heart disease. Severe hypokalaemia can kill through its effect on muscle contraction and therefore on the heart. (Source 7)

How can you test for it?

A blood potassium level is the standard test and is what prescribing of potassium chloride is monitored against, but it is an imperfect measure of body potassium: most potassium sits inside cells, and blood levels correlate poorly with tissue stores. Balance studies, whole-body potassium measurement and muscle biopsy exist as research methods and all have limitations. Assessing potassium status as such is not routine clinical practice. (Source 14)

References

  1. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Introduction. 2022. Read the source
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. K-TAB (potassium chloride extended-release tablets, USP) — INDICATIONS AND USAGE (FDA-approved prescribing information). 2014. Read the source
  3. PLOS ONE. Oral potassium supplementation for management of essential hypertension: A meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. 2017. DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0174967. Read the source
  4. Nature Medicine. Salt substitution and salt-supply restriction for lowering blood pressure in elderly care facilities: a cluster-randomized trial. 2023. PMID 37055566, DOI 10.1038/s41591-023-02286-8. Read the source
  5. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. K-TAB (potassium chloride extended-release tablets, USP) — WARNINGS: hyperkalemia and interacting drugs (FDA-approved prescribing information). 2014. Read the source
  6. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Sources of Potassium (Food) and hyperkalemia risk. 2022. Read the source
  7. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Potassium deficiency. 2022. Read the source
  8. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. K-TAB (potassium chloride extended-release tablets, USP) — WARNINGS: gastrointestinal lesions (FDA-approved prescribing information). 2014. Read the source
  9. The American Journal of Digestive Diseases. Gastric ulcers due to the intake of potassium chloride. 1973. DOI 10.1007/BF01070989. Read the source
  10. Journal of Nephropathology. Comparison of treatment of hypokalemia with oral administration of potassium chloride vial or oral tablets. 2024. DOI 10.34172/jnp.2023.21435. Read the source
  11. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Tolerable Upper Intake Level. 2022. Read the source
  12. Clinical Kidney Journal. Effect of changes in potassium intake on blood pressure: a dose–response meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials (2000–2024). 2025. DOI 10.1093/ckj/sfaf173. Read the source
  13. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Recommended Intakes. 2022. Read the source
  14. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Potassium — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals: Assessing Potassium Status. 2022. Read the source
Share

0:00/0:00