Medications · October 3, 2026 · Memios · 31 min read

Oseltamivir

The question of what oseltamivir actually achieves is one of the most publicly fought-over in modern drug evidence, because for years most of the trial data sat unpublished with the manufacturer.

OseltamivirOseltamivir phosphateTamifluoseltamivir carboxylate (the active form)medicine research
Photograph for Oseltamivir: plain unmarked tablets in a dish beside a glass of water on pale linen.

TLDR

  • Disputed. The question of what oseltamivir actually achieves is one of the most publicly fought-over in modern drug evidence, because for years most of the trial data sat unpublished with the manufacturer.
  • What it is: Oseltamivir is a synthetic antiviral drug given by mouth as oseltamivir phosphate, an ethyl ester prodrug.
  • Main use: Treatment of acute, uncomplicated influenza within 48 hours of symptom onset (well supported).
  • Other approved uses: Prophylaxis of influenza after exposure or during an outbreak (well supported); Reducing influenza complications, antibiotic-treated chest infections and hospital admission (disputed).
  • Off-label uses (not on the FDA label): Treatment of severe or hospitalised influenza (limited evidence).
  • Uses NOT supported by research: Treatment of non-influenza respiratory viruses, including seasonal coronaviruses and by extension COVID-19.
  • Recommended dose (official position): There is no dietary reference intake: oseltamivir is a prescription antiviral and the dose is set by the prescriber.
  • Studied dose (a trial dose, not a recommendation): The individual-patient meta-analysis pooled Roche trials of 75 mg twice daily in adults. Findings citing that trial: 1 for, 1 on harm.
  • Upper limit: No upper intake level exists in the nutrition sense.
  • What goes wrong: 3 findings on harm. Oseltamivir treatment increased nausea and vomiting in adults, with numbers needed to harm of 28 and 22, and vomiting in children with a number needed to harm of 19.
  • Interactions: 9 recorded, including Live attenuated influenza vaccine (nasal spray), Probenecid, Warfarin, Warfarin (a reported bleeding case).
  • Common myth: Tamiflu stops flu in its tracks, so taking it means you will not get seriously ill.

What it is

Oseltamivir is a synthetic antiviral drug given by mouth as oseltamivir phosphate, an ethyl ester prodrug. Gut and liver esterases convert it to oseltamivir carboxylate, the active molecule, which blocks the neuraminidase enzyme on the surface of influenza A and B viruses. At least 75 percent of a dose reaches the bloodstream as the active carboxylate. It is a prescription medicine, supplied as capsules and as a powder for oral suspension.

What the research says

The question of what oseltamivir actually achieves is one of the most publicly fought-over in modern drug evidence, because for years most of the trial data sat unpublished with the manufacturer. On the point everyone agrees on, it shortens influenza symptoms modestly: about 16.8 hours in the Cochrane analysis of the full clinical study reports, about one day in the independent European ALIC4E trial. Beyond that the sides diverge. Cochrane found no significant effect on hospital admissions or serious complications and concluded the trials cannot settle the complications question; manufacturer-sponsored individual-patient meta-analyses found fewer antibiotic-treated chest complications and fewer admissions. Given for prevention after exposure it clearly reduces symptomatic influenza. It reliably causes nausea and vomiting, and the psychiatric-event signal that drove years of concern has not been reproduced in recent large observational work, which found fewer such events in treated children.

Evidence grade: Disputed.

How it works

Drug class: Influenza neuraminidase inhibitor (oral prodrug)

Swallowed oseltamivir phosphate is split by esterases into oseltamivir carboxylate. That active form plugs the influenza virus's neuraminidase enzyme, which the virus needs to cut itself free from the surface of an infected cell. Blocked, newly made virus particles stay stuck and spread more slowly, so the drug limits how far an infection gets rather than killing virus already made. It works on influenza A and B only, and the concentration needed varies widely between strains. (Source 1)

What it is used for

  • Both the Cochrane review of the complete clinical study reports and the manufacturer-data individual-patient meta-analysis agree that oseltamivir shortens symptoms: about 16.8 hours (7 days down to 6.3) in Cochrane, about 25 hours in the infected population of the Dobson analysis, and about 1.02 days in the independent ALIC4E trial. What it does not do, on the Cochrane reading, is reliably prevent the complications of influenza. Evidence: established. (Source 2)
  • This is the least disputed benefit. In the prophylaxis trials oseltamivir cut symptomatic influenza with a number needed to treat of 33 for individuals and 7 within households, but it did not reduce asymptomatic infection and there was no evidence it reduced transmission. The prophylaxis trials are also where the psychiatric and renal adverse event signals showed up. Evidence: established. (Source 3)
  • This is the heart of the controversy. Cochrane found no significant effect on hospitalisation (risk difference 0.15 percent) or on complications classed as serious, and noted no trial defined pneumonia. Manufacturer-sponsored pooled analyses and an independent reanalysis of the same trials found reductions of 28 to 55 percent in antibiotic-treated lower respiratory complications and fewer admissions. Evidence: disputed. (Source 4)
  • The US label covers only acute uncomplicated illness, so treating people already hospitalised goes beyond it. The supporting evidence is observational: in 6,044 children hospitalised with laboratory-confirmed influenza across 13 US states, oseltamivir was associated with a lower hazard of ICU admission (adjusted HR 0.69) and shorter stay. Confounding by indication cannot be excluded in such data. Evidence: limited. (Source 5)
  • A post-hoc analysis of 308 ALIC4E participants who tested positive for seasonal coronaviruses found a shorter median recovery (4 versus 5 days), but this is an exploratory subgroup of a trial designed for influenza-like illness, with no plausible neuraminidase target in coronaviruses, and it says nothing about SARS-CoV-2. Evidence: not-supported. (Source 6)

Interactions

  • Live attenuated influenza vaccine (nasal spray) (theoretical): Oseltamivir can suppress the replication of the weakened vaccine virus, which may blunt the vaccine's effect. The label's position is to avoid the nasal vaccine within two weeks before or 48 hours after oseltamivir. The inactivated injected vaccine is unaffected. (Source 7)
  • Probenecid (pharmacokinetic study): Probenecid blocks the kidney tubule transport that clears the active form of oseltamivir, roughly doubling exposure to it. The label judges the safety margin wide enough that no dose change is needed. (Source 1)
  • Warfarin (case reports): The label says there is no clinically relevant interaction, but clinical reports disagree. A retrospective cohort of 1,041 patients on stable warfarin given oseltamivir prophylaxis found a small significant rise in INR, largest in those with reduced kidney function, and a 2025 case report describes a rapid INR rise and recurrent gastrointestinal bleeding. (Source 8)
  • Warfarin (a reported bleeding case) (case reports): A 64-year-old woman on warfarin for mechanical heart valves with moderate kidney impairment had a rapid INR rise within a week of starting oseltamivir and bled again from the gut; the authors suggest close INR monitoring. (Source 9)
  • Calcium, magnesium and aluminium-containing supplements and antacids (pharmacokinetic study): No dose change is needed. The label records that antacids containing magnesium and aluminium hydroxides and calcium carbonates do not produce a clinically relevant pharmacokinetic interaction with oseltamivir, which covers the common mineral supplement forms. (Source 1)
  • Food (label): Food does not meaningfully change absorption, but taking the dose with food is reported to improve how well the stomach tolerates it, which matters because nausea and vomiting are the drug's commonest adverse effects. (Source 10)
  • Alcohol (label): No alcohol interaction is documented. The drug interactions section of the label covers only live attenuated influenza vaccine, and separately lists the drugs with no clinically significant interaction; alcohol appears nowhere, and our searches found no human study of oseltamivir with alcohol. Alcohol can worsen the nausea and dehydration of influenza itself, which is not a drug interaction. (Source 7)
  • St John's wort and other CYP-active herbs (pharmacokinetic study): A CYP-mediated herb interaction is not expected: in laboratory studies neither oseltamivir nor its active form is a good substrate for the cytochrome P450 oxidases or glucuronyl transferases, so inducers and inhibitors of those enzymes have little to act on. No clinical study of oseltamivir with St John's wort was found. (Source 1)
  • Fructose and sorbitol, in hereditary fructose intolerance (label): The oral suspension is sweetened, and one 75 mg dose delivers about 2 grams of sorbitol. The label's position is that this is above the daily sorbitol limit for people with hereditary fructose intolerance and can cause indigestion and diarrhoea. It is a formulation issue for that inherited condition, not a general food interaction. (Source 11)

Stopping it

  • Oseltamivir is given as a fixed short course rather than as continuous treatment, so there is no taper and no deprescribing literature. Treatment in adults and adolescents is 75 mg twice daily for 5 days, started within 48 hours of symptoms; prophylaxis runs at least 10 days after exposure, or up to 6 weeks during a community outbreak. (Source 12)
  • No dependence or withdrawal syndrome has been described. The nearest signal in the literature is that in the prophylaxis trials psychiatric adverse events were counted across the combined on-treatment and off-treatment periods, so some events were recorded after the drug stopped; the absolute excess was about 1 percent with a number needed to harm of 94 and a very wide confidence interval. (Source 13)
  • One consequence of treatment that persists after stopping is a slightly blunted antibody response: fewer treated participants, adults and children, had a four-fold rise in antibody titre than controls, a roughly 5 percentage point absolute difference in adults. (Source 3)

What goes wrong

Oseltamivir treatment increased nausea and vomiting in adults, with numbers needed to harm of 28 and 22, and vomiting in children with a number needed to harm of 19. (Source 3)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: adult and child oseltamivir treatment trials in the Cochrane set.
  • Who: adults and children treated for influenza-like illness.
  • How long: on-treatment period.
  • Result: Nausea risk difference 3.66% (95% CI 0.90 to 7.39), NNTH 28 (14 to 112); vomiting 4.56% (2.39 to 7.58), NNTH 22 (14 to 42); children vomiting 5.34% (1.75 to 10.29), NNTH 19 (10 to 57); a dose-response effect on psychiatric events in the two pivotal trials (P = 0.038); four-fold antibody rises less common on treatment (RR 0.92, 95% CI 0.86 to 0.97)
  • Funding: manufacturer-sponsored trials, independently analysed.

Oseltamivir in the treatment of adults increased the risk of nausea (RD 3.66%, 95% CI 0.90 to 7.39); number needed to treat to harm (NNTH) = 28 (95% CI 14 to 112) and vomiting (RD 4.56%, 95% CI 2.39 to 7.58); NNTH = 22 (14 to 42).

In the prophylaxis trials oseltamivir increased psychiatric adverse events, headaches and renal events, with numbers needed to harm of 94, 32 and about 150. (Source 13)

  • Systematic review, Low certainty.
  • Size: oseltamivir prophylaxis trials from the clinical study reports.
  • Who: people taking oseltamivir to prevent influenza.
  • How long: combined on-treatment and off-treatment periods.
  • Result: Psychiatric adverse events risk difference 1.06% (95% CI 0.07 to 2.76), NNTH 94 (36 to 1538); headaches on treatment 3.15% (0.88 to 5.78), NNTH 32 (18 to 115); nausea on treatment 4.15% (0.86 to 9.51), NNTH 25 (11 to 116); renal events 0.67% with a confidence interval crossing no effect.
  • Funding: manufacturer-sponsored trials, independently analysed; wide confidence intervals and few events.

In prophylaxis studies, oseltamivir increased the risk of psychiatric adverse events during the combined "on-treatment" and "off-treatment" periods (risk difference 1.06%, 0.07% to 2.76%; NNTH 94, 36 to 1538)

The manufacturer-data meta-analysis measured the same nausea and vomiting excess but recorded no effect on neurological or psychiatric disorders. (Source 14)

  • Meta-analysis, Low certainty.
  • Size: 4,328 patients, safety population.
  • Who: adults in Roche-sponsored treatment trials.
  • How long: on-treatment and follow-up.
  • Result: Nausea 9·9% versus 6·2% (RR 1·60, 95% CI 1·29-1·99, risk difference 3·7%); vomiting 8·0% versus 3·3% (RR 2·43, 95% CI 1·83-3·23, risk difference 4·7%); no effect on neurological or psychiatric disorders or serious adverse events.
  • Funding: MUGAS foundation; restricted to the manufacturer's own trials.

Regarding safety, oseltamivir increased the risk of nausea (RR 1·60, 95% CI 1·29-1·99; p<0·0001; 9·9% oseltamivir vs 6·2% placebo, risk difference 3·7%, 95% CI 1·8-6·1)

What the evidence supports

In the Cochrane review built from 107 unpublished clinical study reports, oseltamivir shortened time to first symptom relief in adults by 16.8 hours, from 7 to 6.3 days. (Source 2)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 20 oseltamivir trials, 9,623 participants (plus 26 zanamivir trials, 14,628 participants)
  • Who: adults and children with confirmed or suspected naturally occurring influenza.
  • How long: single 5-day treatment courses, symptom follow-up to resolution.
  • Result: 16.8 hours shorter (95% CI 8.4 to 25.1 hours, P < 0.0001); in otherwise healthy children 29 hours (95% CI 12 to 47, P = 0.001); no effect in asthmatic children.
  • Funding: all included trials were manufacturer-sponsored; the review authors flag high risk of selection bias in half the oseltamivir studies, high attrition bias and selective reporting.

For the treatment of adults, oseltamivir reduced the time to first alleviation of symptoms by 16.8 hours (95% confidence interval (CI) 8.4 to 25.1 hours, P < 0.0001). This represents a reduction in the time to first alleviation of symptoms from 7 to 6.3 days.

An individual-patient meta-analysis of nine manufacturer trials found a 21 percent shorter time to symptom relief, fewer antibiotic-treated chest complications and fewer hospital admissions. (Source 14)

  • Meta-analysis, Low certainty.
  • Size: 4,328 patients across nine Roche-sponsored trials.
  • Who: adults with naturally occurring influenza-like illness; main analysis in the intention-to-treat infected population.
  • How long: 5 days of treatment with symptom diaries.
  • Result: Time ratio 0·79 (95% CI 0·74-0·85), median 97·5 h versus 122·7 h (difference -25·2 h); lower respiratory complications needing antibiotics 4·9% versus 8·7% (risk difference -3·8%, 95% CI -5·0 to -2·2); admission to hospital 0·6% versus 1·7% (risk difference -1·1%)
  • Funding: funded by the Multiparty Group for Advice on Science (MUGAS) foundation and restricted to Roche-sponsored trials; the attenuation of the effect in the full intention-to-treat population (time ratio 0·85) shows how much the choice of population matters.

In the intention-to-treat infected population, we noted a 21% shorter time to alleviation of all symptoms for oseltamivir versus placebo recipients (time ratio 0·79, 95% CI 0·74-0·85; p<0·0001).

In the independent, publicly funded ALIC4E trial, adding oseltamivir to usual primary care shortened recovery by about one day on average. (Source 15)

  • Randomized trial, High certainty.
  • Size: 3,266 participants aged 1 year and over in 15 European countries.
  • Who: people presenting to primary care with influenza-like illness; 52 percent had PCR-confirmed influenza.
  • How long: three influenza seasons, 2016 to 2018; recovery followed to return to usual activities.
  • Result: Hazard ratio for recovery 1·29 (95% BCrI 1·20-1·39); absolute mean benefit 1·02 days (95% BCrI 0·74-1·31), ranging from 0·70 days in younger, milder, healthier patients to 3·20 days in those aged 65 or over with comorbidities and longer illness.
  • Funding: European Commission's Seventh Framework Programme; open-label design, which can inflate subjective recovery outcomes.

The estimated absolute mean benefit from oseltamivir was 1·02 days (95% [BCrI] 0·74-1·31) overall

Used as prophylaxis, oseltamivir reduced symptomatic influenza with a number needed to treat of 33 in individuals and 7 in households, but had no effect on asymptomatic infection. (Source 3)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: oseltamivir prophylaxis trials within the Cochrane 46-trial set.
  • Who: people exposed to influenza in the community or household.
  • How long: prophylaxis courses with on- and off-treatment follow-up.
  • Result: Symptomatic influenza risk difference 3.05% (95% CI 1.83 to 3.88), NNTB 33 (26 to 55); households risk difference 13.6% (9.52 to 15.47), NNTB 7 (6 to 11); no significant effect on asymptomatic influenza (RR 1.14, 95% CI 0.39 to 3.33)
  • Funding: manufacturer-sponsored trials; the household NNTB rests on a single study according to the BMJ version of the analysis.

Prophylaxis. In prophylaxis trials, oseltamivir and zanamivir reduced the risk of symptomatic influenza in individuals (oseltamivir: RD 3.05% (95% CI 1.83 to 3.88); NNTB = 33 (26 to 55)

A manufacturer-sponsored pooled analysis of 10 treatment trials reported 55 percent fewer antibiotic-treated lower respiratory complications and 59 percent fewer hospitalisations. (Source 16)

  • Meta-analysis, Very low certainty.
  • Size: 3,564 subjects aged 13 to 97 across 10 placebo-controlled trials.
  • Who: adults and adolescents with influenza-like illness; main analysis in those with proven influenza.
  • How long: trial follow-up after 5-day courses.
  • Result: Influenza-related lower respiratory complications needing antibiotics 4.6% versus 10.3% (55% reduction, P<.001); hospitalisation for any cause 9/1350 (0.7%) versus 18/1063 (1.7%) (59% reduction, P=.02); no difference in those without confirmed influenza.
  • Funding: industry-funded pooled analysis of the manufacturer's own trials; retrospective, with complications self-reported and investigator-mediated rather than defined by protocol.

Hospitalization for any cause occurred in 18 (1.7%) of 1063 placebo recipients compared with 9 (0.7%) of 1350 oseltamivir-treated patients (59% reduction; P =.02).

An independent reanalysis of 11 randomised trials found oseltamivir reduced antibiotic-treated lower respiratory complications by 28 percent overall and 37 percent in confirmed influenza. (Source 17)

  • Meta-analysis, Low certainty.
  • Size: 11 randomised clinical trials.
  • Who: patients with flu symptoms, with a subgroup of confirmed influenza infection.
  • How long: trial follow-up.
  • Result: 28% reduction overall (95% CI 11%-42%) and 37% among patients with confirmed influenza (95% CI 18%-52%)
  • Funding: described by its authors as an independent reanalysis, but of trials the manufacturer ran; published as a brief report, so methodological detail in the abstract is thin.

An independent reanalysis of 11 randomized clinical trials shows that oseltamivir treatment reduces the risk of lower respiratory tract complications requiring antibiotic treatment by 28% overall (95% confidence interval [CI], 11%-42%)

In a US surveillance cohort of children hospitalised with laboratory-confirmed influenza, oseltamivir was associated with a 31 percent lower hazard of ICU admission. (Source 5)

  • Cohort study, Low certainty.
  • Size: 6,044 cases in the ICU analysis (4,240 treated) and 7,103 in the length-of-stay analysis.
  • Who: children under 18 hospitalised with laboratory-confirmed influenza in 13 US states, seasons 2014-15 to 2022-23 excluding 2020-21.
  • How long: eight influenza seasons.
  • Result: Adjusted hazard ratio for ICU admission 0.69 (95% CI 0.60-0.80); hazard of hospital discharge 1.13 (95% CI 1.06-1.21), meaning shorter stay.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; observational surveillance data with oseltamivir as a time-dependent exposure, so residual confounding by severity remains possible.

Limit of this finding: Two cautions. First, the published abstract's sex breakdown does not add up: it reports 3382 (56%) male and 3721 (44%) female in a group of 6044, but those counts sum to 7103 and the larger count carries the smaller percentage. The error is the journal's, and those particular figures should not be relied on. Second, the 31 percent is the complement of the hazard ratio 0.69, not an absolute risk reduction: it does not mean 31 children in every 100 avoided intensive care.

In adjusted models, compared with untreated children, oseltamivir treatment reduced the hazard of ICU admission (aHR, 0.69; 95% CI, 0.60-0.80)

What the evidence does not support

The same Cochrane review found no significant effect of oseltamivir treatment on hospital admissions or on complications classified as serious. (Source 4)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: adult oseltamivir treatment trials within the 20-trial oseltamivir set.
  • Who: adults with influenza-like illness in the intention-to-treat population.
  • How long: 5-day courses with trial follow-up.
  • Result: Hospitalisation risk difference 0.15% (95% CI -0.78 to 0.91); serious complications or those leading to withdrawal, risk difference 0.07% (95% CI -0.78 to 0.44); self-reported unverified pneumonia reduced, risk difference 1.00% (0.22 to 1.49), NNTB 100 (67 to 451), but not significant in the five trials that used a more detailed pneumonia form.
  • Funding: manufacturer-sponsored trials, independently re-analysed from clinical study reports.

Treatment of adults with oseltamivir had no significant effect on hospitalisations: risk difference (RD) 0.15% (95% CI -0.78 to 0.91).

Cochrane's authors concluded that the trials cannot settle whether influenza complications are reduced, and that the manufacturers' proposed virus-specific mechanism does not fit the clinical evidence. (Source 18)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 46 trials analysed in stage 2.
  • Who: all age groups, treatment and prophylaxis.
  • How long: trial durations.
  • Result: No usable definitions of pneumonia or other complications in any trial; effects on symptom relief described as small and non-specific.
  • Funding: all trials manufacturer-sponsored; review notes placebo interventions may have contained active substances.

The influenza virus-specific mechanism of action proposed by the producers does not fit the clinical evidence.

A population cohort of nearly 700,000 children found fewer serious neuropsychiatric events during oseltamivir-treated influenza than during untreated influenza. (Source 19)

  • Cohort study, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: roughly 692,000 children (the abstract gives 692 975 eligible and 692 295 analysed, which do not reconcile), 19,688,320 person-weeks of follow-up, 151,401 influenza episodes, 1,230 serious neuropsychiatric events.
  • Who: children aged 5 to 17 in Tennessee Medicaid, 2016-17 and 2019-20 influenza seasons.
  • How long: two influenza seasons.
  • Result: Compared with untreated influenza: treated influenza IRR 0.53 (95% CI 0.33-0.88), post-treatment IRR 0.42 (0.24-0.74); driven more by neurologic events (IRR 0.45, 0.25-0.82) than psychiatric (IRR 0.80, 0.34-1.88)
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; observational, so treatment was not randomised and confounding by indication is possible in either direction.

Limit of this finding: The published abstract's own numbers do not reconcile: it gives 692 975 children as eligible and then describes 692 295 children as the group that experienced the events. The mismatch is in the journal's text, not in this summary, so read the cohort size as roughly 692,000. It does not affect the rate ratios, which are what this finding rests on.

Compared with untreated influenza, event rates were lower during oseltamivir-treated influenza periods (IRR, 0.53; 95% CI, 0.33-0.88) and posttreatment periods (IRR, 0.42; 95% CI, 0.24-0.74).

A 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of nine studies found no evidence that oseltamivir increases neuropsychiatric or behavioural adverse events. (Source 20)

  • Meta-analysis, Low certainty.
  • Size: 9 studies, individual study sizes from 1,139 to 3,352,015 patients.
  • Who: oseltamivir users compared with control groups across all ages.
  • How long: database searches to 31 October 2024.
  • Result: Overall neuropsychiatric events RR 0.83 (95% CI 0.72-0.97), except in patients under 20; suicide attempts RR 0.60 (0.46-0.77); schizophrenia or psychotic disorders in under-20s RR 0.75 (0.61-0.93)
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; predominantly observational inputs with very heterogeneous study sizes.

This is the first comprehensive meta-analysis examining the associations of oseltamivir with various NPEs and behavioral adverse events, and we found no evidence supporting increased risks of these adverse events with oseltamivir use.

The label states there is no evidence that oseltamivir works against anything other than influenza viruses, and that it has not been shown to prevent the bacterial complications that can follow influenza. (Source 11)

  • Official position, Certainty not rated.
  • Size: not applicable; a regulatory statement, not a trial.
  • Who: anyone prescribed oseltamivir.
  • How long: not applicable.
  • Result: No figures are given; the label states only the absence of evidence of efficacy against non-influenza pathogens and the absence of demonstrated prevention of secondary bacterial infection.
  • Funding: not applicable; manufacturer label text approved by the FDA.

There is no evidence for efficacy of TAMIFLU in any illness caused by pathogens other than influenza viruses.

Where the evidence is mixed

A post-hoc subgroup of a primary care trial suggested faster recovery with oseltamivir in people with seasonal coronavirus infections, which does not establish an effect. (Source 6)

  • Randomized trial, Very low certainty.
  • Size: 308 of 3,266 randomised participants (9 percent) tested positive for a seasonal coronavirus; outcome ascertained in 283.
  • Who: primary care patients with influenza-like illness positive for CoV-229E, CoV-OC43, CoV-KU1 or CoV-NL63 (not SARS-CoV-2)
  • How long: three influenza seasons, 2016 to 2018.
  • Result: Median time to recovery 4 days (IQR 3-6) versus 5 days (IQR 3-8); hazard ratio 1.31 (95% CI 1.03 to 1.66), P = 0.026.
  • Funding: secondary analysis of the EU-funded ALIC4E trial; explicitly exploratory and post-hoc, open-label, with no mechanism by which a neuraminidase inhibitor should act on a coronavirus.

The median time to recovery was shorter in patients randomised to oseltamivir: 4 days (interquartile range [IQR] 3-6) versus 5 days (IQR 3-8; hazard ratio 1.31; 95% confidence interval = 1.03 to 1.66

Where the research disagrees

Whether oseltamivir reduces the complications of influenza and hospital admission, and whether the trial evidence can answer the question at all

  • Jefferson and colleagues, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2014 and BMJ 2014, systematic review of 107 full clinical study reports and regulatory comments, obtained after a campaign for the unpublished data: Treatment trials with oseltamivir or zanamivir do not settle the question of whether the complications of influenza (such as pneumonia) are reduced, because of a lack of diagnostic definitions. (Source 18)
  • Dobson, Whitley, Pocock and Monto, Lancet 2015 (MUGAS-funded), individual-patient-data meta-analysis of nine Roche-sponsored randomised trials, 4,328 patients: Our findings show that oseltamivir in adults with influenza accelerates time to clinical symptom alleviation, reduces risk of lower respiratory tract complications, and admittance to hospital, but increases the occurrence of nausea and vomiting. (Source 14)
  • Kaiser and colleagues, Archives of Internal Medicine 2003 (manufacturer-sponsored pooled analysis), retrospective pooled analysis of 10 placebo-controlled trials, 3,564 subjects, with self-reported investigator-mediated complications: Oseltamivir treatment of influenza illness reduces LRTCs, antibiotic use, and hospitalization in both healthy and "at-risk" adults. (Source 16)
  • Hernan and Lipsitch, Clinical Infectious Diseases 2011, independent reanalysis of 11 randomised trials run by the manufacturer: An independent reanalysis of 11 randomized clinical trials shows that oseltamivir treatment reduces the risk of lower respiratory tract complications requiring antibiotic treatment by 28% overall (Source 17)
  • Commentary in Clinical Microbiology and Infection 2015 on how the data were obtained, narrative commentary placing the Cochrane review in context: After a protracted campaign to obtain the reports, the manufacturers of the medications provided them unconditionally. (Source 21)

Whether oseltamivir causes neuropsychiatric events such as delirium and abnormal behaviour

  • US label (section 5.2, label revised 8/2019) and the Cochrane analysis of the trial data, position based on spontaneous post-marketing reports; the Cochrane analysis separately found a dose-response on psychiatric events in the two pivotal trials and an excess in prophylaxis trials: There have been postmarketing reports of delirium and abnormal behavior leading to injury, and in some cases resulting in fatal outcomes, in patients with influenza who were receiving TAMIFLU (Source 22)
  • Antoon and colleagues, JAMA Neurology 2025, and a 2025 systematic review in JMCP, retrospective cohort of 692,295 children with 19.7 million person-weeks of follow-up, supported by a meta-analysis of nine studies finding RR 0.83: In this cohort study, oseltamivir treatment during influenza episodes was associated with a reduced risk of serious neuropsychiatric events. (Source 19)

How much

  • Reference intake: There is no dietary reference intake: oseltamivir is a prescription antiviral and the dose is set by the prescriber. As a position in the US label (revised 8/2019, read from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025), the label states 75 mg twice daily for 5 days for treatment in adults and adolescents 13 and over, with weight-based dosing in younger children, and 75 mg once daily for prophylaxis. (Source 12)
  • Upper limit: No upper intake level exists in the nutrition sense. The label's position is that plasma concentrations of the active carboxylate stay proportional to dose up to 500 mg twice daily, about 6.7 times the maximum recommended dosage, and it requires dose reduction when creatinine clearance falls to 60 mL per minute or below. (Source 12)
  • Studied: The individual-patient meta-analysis pooled Roche trials of 75 mg twice daily in adults. (Source 14)
  • Studied: The Cochrane analysis compared the standard 150 mg daily total with a 300 mg daily high-dose arm in the two pivotal treatment trials WV15670 and WV15671, and found a dose-response effect on psychiatric events. (Source 3)
  • Studied: ALIC4E added oseltamivir to usual primary care in patients aged 1 year and older across 15 European countries. (Source 15)

A common belief, and what the research shows

The belief: Tamiflu stops flu in its tracks, so taking it means you will not get seriously ill.

What the research shows: The size of the benefit is roughly one day. The Cochrane review of the complete clinical study reports found treatment shortened time to first symptom relief by 16.8 hours, "a reduction in the time to first alleviation of symptoms from 7 to 6.3 days", and the independent ALIC4E trial put the absolute mean benefit at 1.02 days. Whether it prevents the complications that actually matter is still contested: Cochrane found "no significant effect on hospitalisations: risk difference (RD) 0.15% (95% CI -0.78 to 0.91)", while manufacturer-data analyses report fewer antibiotic-treated chest complications and fewer admissions. Meanwhile it reliably causes nausea and vomiting, with numbers needed to harm of 28 and 22 in adults. A second misconception runs the other way, that it drives psychiatric harm in children; the largest recent cohort found fewer serious neuropsychiatric events in treated than untreated influenza.

Questions and answers

What is it?

Oseltamivir is a manufactured antiviral drug, not a nutrient or a microbe. It is swallowed as oseltamivir phosphate, an inactive ester, which the body's esterases convert to oseltamivir carboxylate. That active form blocks the neuraminidase enzyme of influenza A and B viruses. It comes as capsules and as a powder made up into an oral suspension. (Source 1)

What does it do in the body?

The active form jams the viral enzyme that influenza uses to release newly made virus particles from the cell they were built in. With that enzyme blocked, the infection spreads more slowly through the airway. It has no effect on viruses that do not use neuraminidase, and the concentration needed varies a lot between influenza strains, from under 0.001 micromolar to over 35 micromolar depending on strain and assay. (Source 1)

Is it good or bad for you?

It depends on who takes it and when. Started within 48 hours of influenza symptoms it shortens illness by roughly a day, and the benefit was largest in the independent trial among people aged 65 and over with other conditions and a longer illness, where it reached about three days. Taken to prevent influenza after exposure it works, with a number needed to treat of 33 individually and 7 within a household. Against that, it causes nausea in about one person in 28 treated and vomiting in one in 22 more than placebo, and whether it prevents the serious outcomes people most want prevented is genuinely disputed. (Source 15)

How do you get more of it?

There is no dietary or behavioural way to get it; it is a manufactured prescription medicine. The label's position is that it is indicated for treating acute uncomplicated influenza in people 2 weeks of age and older who have been ill for no more than 48 hours, and for prophylaxis in people 1 year and older, and that it is not a substitute for annual influenza vaccination. (Source 23)

If it is harmful, what reduces it?

The drug clears on its own; treatment is a fixed 5-day course and prophylaxis a defined period, so there is nothing to reverse. If an adverse reaction happens the literature and label describe stopping it rather than reducing it: the label instructs that it be stopped and treatment started if an allergic-type reaction is suspected, and it is cleared by the kidneys, so dose reduction is required when kidney function is impaired. (Source 24)

Why might someone be low in it or missing it?

Does not apply in the nutritional sense: the body does not make oseltamivir and no one can be deficient in it. The practical reasons someone with influenza does not receive it are missing the 48-hour window, not seeking care, or prescribers choosing not to use it. In European primary care, low prescribing was the starting point of the ALIC4E trial, which recorded that antivirals are infrequently prescribed there partly because of perceived ineffectiveness in real-world practice. (Source 25)

Which whole foods contain it or feed it?

No whole food contains oseltamivir and no food feeds it. The only food-related point in the evidence is tolerability: the label states the capsules and suspension can be taken with or without food, but that tolerability may be improved when taken with food, which is relevant because nausea and vomiting are its commonest adverse effects. (Source 10)

What happens if you do not have it?

If you do not take it, influenza runs its ordinary course. The trials show what that looks like: untreated adults took about 7 days to first symptom relief against 6.3 days with treatment, and in the primary care trial the untreated group recovered about one day later on average. In observational data from hospitalised children, those not given it had a higher hazard of ICU admission, though that is association rather than proof. Nothing is permanently missing from the body. (Source 2)

How can you test for it?

There is no test for oseltamivir levels in routine care. What is tested is the thing it treats: influenza, by PCR or similar laboratory confirmation, and that test materially changes the picture, because benefit concentrates in people who really have influenza. In ALIC4E only 1,590 of 3,059 participants with influenza-like illness (52 percent) were PCR-positive, and in the pooled manufacturer trials the complication and hospitalisation differences were present in confirmed influenza but absent in people with influenza-like illness who were not infected. Resistance testing of the virus exists in surveillance laboratories rather than in individual care. (Source 15)

References

  1. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, Pharmacokinetics and Microbiology. 2019. Read the source
  2. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. Neuraminidase inhibitors for preventing and treating influenza in adults and children.. 2014. PMID 24718923, DOI 10.1002/14651858.cd008965.pub4. Read the source
  3. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. Neuraminidase inhibitors for preventing and treating influenza in adults and children.. 2014. PMID 24718923, DOI 10.1002/14651858.cd008965.pub4. Read the source
  4. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. Neuraminidase inhibitors for preventing and treating influenza in adults and children.. 2014. PMID 24718923, DOI 10.1002/14651858.cd008965.pub4. Read the source
  5. JAMA pediatrics. Effectiveness of Oseltamivir in Hospitalized Children With Laboratory-Confirmed Influenza, 2014-2023.. 2026. PMID 42573991, DOI 10.1001/jamapediatrics.2026.3376. Read the source
  6. The British journal of general practice : the journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners. Oseltamivir for coronavirus illness: post-hoc exploratory analysis of an open-label, pragmatic, randomised controlled trial in European primary care from 2016 to 2018.. 2020. PMID 32571773, DOI 10.3399/bjgp20x711941. Read the source
  7. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, section 7 Drug Interactions (7.1-7.2). 2019. Read the source
  8. Journal of thrombosis and thrombolysis. Impact of prophylactic oseltamivir on INR in patients on stable warfarin therapy.. 2020. PMID 31898274, DOI 10.1007/s11239-019-02016-3. Read the source
  9. La Revue de medecine interne. [Gastrointestinal hemorrhage due to a probable warfarin/oseltamivir drug interaction: A case report].. 2025. PMID 41162205, DOI 10.1016/j.revmed.2025.09.008. Read the source
  10. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, section 2.1 Dosage and Administration Overview. 2019. Read the source
  11. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, sections 5.3 Risk of Bacterial Infections and 5.4 Fructose Intolerance in Patients with Hereditary Fructose Intolerance. 2019. Read the source
  12. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, Recommended Dosage. 2019. Read the source
  13. BMJ (Clinical research ed.). Oseltamivir for influenza in adults and children: systematic review of clinical study reports and summary of regulatory comments.. 2014. PMID 24811411, DOI 10.1136/bmj.g2545. Read the source
  14. Lancet (London, England). Oseltamivir treatment for influenza in adults: a meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials.. 2015. PMID 25640810, DOI 10.1016/s0140-6736(14)62449-1. Read the source
  15. Lancet (London, England). Oseltamivir plus usual care versus usual care for influenza-like illness in primary care: an open-label, pragmatic, randomised controlled trial.. 2020. PMID 31839279, DOI 10.1016/s0140-6736(19)32982-4. Read the source
  16. Archives of internal medicine. Impact of oseltamivir treatment on influenza-related lower respiratory tract complications and hospitalizations.. 2003. PMID 12885681, DOI 10.1001/archinte.163.14.1667. Read the source
  17. Clinical infectious diseases : an official publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Oseltamivir and risk of lower respiratory tract complications in patients with flu symptoms: a meta-analysis of eleven randomized clinical trials.. 2011. PMID 21677258, DOI 10.1093/cid/cir400. Read the source
  18. The Cochrane database of systematic reviews. Neuraminidase inhibitors for preventing and treating influenza in adults and children.. 2014. PMID 24718923, DOI 10.1002/14651858.cd008965.pub4. Read the source
  19. JAMA neurology. Influenza With and Without Oseltamivir Treatment and Neuropsychiatric Events Among Children and Adolescents.. 2025. PMID 40758339, DOI 10.1001/jamaneurol.2025.1995. Read the source
  20. Journal of managed care & specialty pharmacy. Associations of oseltamivir with neuropsychiatric and behavioral adverse events: A systematic review and meta-analysis.. 2025. PMID 41004206, DOI 10.18553/jmcp.2025.31.10.1051. Read the source
  21. Clinical microbiology and infection : the official publication of the European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases. Commentary on Cochrane review of neuraminidase inhibitors for preventing and treating influenza in healthy adults and children.. 2015. PMID 25658541, DOI 10.1016/j.cmi.2014.10.011. Read the source
  22. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, section 5.2 Neuropsychiatric Events. 2019. Read the source
  23. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) capsules and for oral suspension - US prescribing information, section 1 Indications and Usage (1.1-1.3). 2019. Read the source
  24. Genentech, Inc., via DailyMed (US National Library of Medicine); label states "Revised: 8/2019", retrieved from the DailyMed SPL version posted 2025. TAMIFLU (oseltamivir phosphate) - US prescribing information, section 5.1 Serious Skin/Hypersensitivity Reactions. 2019. Read the source
  25. Lancet (London, England). Oseltamivir plus usual care versus usual care for influenza-like illness in primary care: an open-label, pragmatic, randomised controlled trial.. 2020. PMID 31839279, DOI 10.1016/s0140-6736(19)32982-4. Read the source
Share

0:00/0:00