Medications · October 3, 2026 · Memios · 27 min read

Azelastine

For allergic rhinitis, azelastine nasal spray beats placebo with a number needed to treat of 5.0 (95% CI 3.3-10.0) on a global assessment of efficacy.

Azelastine (azelastine hydrochloride)azelastine HClAstelinAstepromedicine research
Photograph for Azelastine: plain unmarked tablets in a dish beside a glass of water on pale linen.

TLDR

  • Well established. For allergic rhinitis, azelastine nasal spray beats placebo with a number needed to treat of 5.0 (95% CI 3.3-10.0) on a global assessment of efficacy.
  • What it is: Azelastine is a synthetic phthalazinone antihistamine supplied as a metered nasal spray (137 mcg of azelastine hydrochloride per spray in the 0.1% product) and as a 0.05% ophthalmic solution. The nasal spray is available both on prescription and, in some products, over the counter.
  • Main use: Seasonal allergic rhinitis (well supported).
  • Other approved uses: Vasomotor (non-allergic) rhinitis (limited evidence); Itching of the eye associated with allergic conjunctivitis (limited evidence); Allergic rhinitis in combination with intranasal fluticasone propionate (well supported).
  • Off-label uses (not on the FDA label): Pre-exposure prevention of SARS-CoV-2 and other respiratory virus infection (limited evidence).
  • Uses NOT supported by research: Treatment of established mild COVID-19.
  • Recommended dose (official position): Dosing is set by the prescriber or by the product's own directions.
  • Studied dose (a trial dose, not a recommendation): The pooled safety trials gave 2 sprays per nostril twice daily to 391 patients aged 12 and over with seasonal allergic rhinitis, for 2 days to 8 weeks. No finding here cites that trial.
  • Upper limit: As a position, the highest regimen stated anywhere on the nasal-spray label is two sprays per nostril twice daily, which is the stated dosage for vasomotor rhinitis in adults and adolescents 12 years and older.
  • What goes wrong: 5 findings on harm. Bitter taste affected 19.7% of patients on azelastine nasal spray versus 0.6% on vehicle placebo - about 1 extra person tasting it badly for every 5 treated.
  • Interactions: 6 recorded, including Alcohol, Sedatives, sleep aids and other central nervous system depressants, Erythromycin and ketoconazole, Intranasal fluticasone propionate.
  • Common myth: A nasal spray only works in the nose, so it cannot make you drowsy.

What it is

Azelastine is a synthetic phthalazinone antihistamine supplied as a metered nasal spray (137 mcg of azelastine hydrochloride per spray in the 0.1% product) and as a 0.05% ophthalmic solution. The nasal spray is available both on prescription and, in some products, over the counter. It is also sold combined with the corticosteroid fluticasone propionate in a single nasal spray. It is given as a racemic mixture, and is metabolised by cytochrome P450 enzymes to an active metabolite with an elimination half-life of about 22 hours.

What the research says

For allergic rhinitis, azelastine nasal spray beats placebo with a number needed to treat of 5.0 (95% CI 3.3-10.0) on a global assessment of efficacy, but a 2007 meta-analysis of 11 studies found no significant difference between azelastine and active comparator drugs, and the effect size against placebo on total symptom score was modest (0.36). Combining it with intranasal fluticasone is better than either alone. The commonest problem is taste: bitter taste affected 19.7% on the spray versus 0.6% on vehicle placebo, and somnolence 11.5% versus 5.4%, so this is not a side-effect-free topical treatment. Off-label, a single-centre phase 2 trial found fewer PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infections on azelastine spray (2.2% versus 6.7%), while a trial in people who already had mild COVID-19 found no hospitalisations in either arm and only a trivial difference in viral load.

Evidence grade: Well established.

How it works

Drug class: Second-generation histamine H1-receptor antagonist (antihistamine), applied topically to the nose or the eye; a phthalazinone derivative

Azelastine blocks the histamine H1 receptor, so histamine released by allergy-triggered mast cells cannot produce itching, sneezing and runny nose. It is sprayed into the nose or dropped into the eye, so it works mainly where it is applied, though a share of each nasal dose still reaches the bloodstream - the label's pharmacokinetics section puts systemic bioavailability at approximately 40%. Its main breakdown product, desmethylazelastine, also blocks H1 receptors. (Source 1)

What it is used for

  • A 2007 meta-analysis of randomised trials found azelastine nasal spray more effective than placebo, with a summary number needed to treat of 5.0 (95% CI 3.3-10.0) and an effect size of 0.36 on total symptom score. The US label approves it for adults and children from 5 years old. Evidence: established. (Source 2)
  • The US label approves azelastine nasal spray for vasomotor rhinitis in people aged 12 and over, based on two placebo-controlled studies in 216 patients reported in the label's adverse-reaction section. We did not find a systematic review of this indication, so the published outcome evidence we can cite for it is thinner than for seasonal allergic rhinitis. Evidence: limited. (Source 3)
  • Azelastine 0.05% ophthalmic solution is approved for eye itching in allergic conjunctivitis. In controlled multiple-dose studies up to 56 days, transient eye burning or stinging occurred in about 30% of patients, headache in about 15% and bitter taste in about 10%. We did not locate a systematic review of the eye drop in this slice. Evidence: limited. (Source 4)
  • A 2019 systematic review and meta-analysis of 8 randomised trials found the azelastine-fluticasone combination spray reduced Total Nasal Symptom Score more than placebo (mean change -2.41), more than azelastine alone (-1.40) and more than fluticasone alone (-0.74), all P < .001. The authors position it as second-line, for rhinitis not controlled on monotherapy. Evidence: established. (Source 5)
  • A single-centre phase 2 randomised trial in 450 healthy adults found PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection in 2.2% on azelastine spray three times daily versus 6.7% on placebo over 56 days (odds ratio 0.31, 95% CI 0.11-0.87), an absolute difference of 4.5 percentage points. The trial's own authors call for confirmation in larger multicentre trials. This use is off-label. Evidence: limited. (Source 6)
  • A multicentre phase 2 randomised trial in 294 people with mild COVID-19 recorded no COVID-related hospitalisation in either arm, so the clinical endpoint could not distinguish the groups. The abstract reports day-11 figures of log10 5.93 versus log10 5.85 copies/mL with p = 0.0041 and calls them reductions; numbers that size are almost certainly absolute day-11 viral loads, so the abstract is internally inconsistent and the gap of 0.08 log10 is too small to be clinically meaningful either way. This use is off-label. Evidence: not-supported. (Source 7)

Interactions

  • Alcohol (label): Alcohol and azelastine both reduce alertness, and the label says the combination should be avoided because the loss of alertness and impairment of mental performance add together. The label states this as a caution rather than reporting a measured interaction study. (Source 8)
  • Sedatives, sleep aids and other central nervous system depressants (label): The same warning covers any other sedating medicine: alertness and mental performance can be impaired more than by either alone, which is why the label also advises against driving or using machinery after a dose. (Source 9)
  • Erythromycin and ketoconazole (pharmacokinetic study): Both of these drugs inhibit liver enzymes and can prolong the heart's QT interval with some antihistamines. Interaction studies with oral azelastine found no effect on QTc, so this interaction was looked for and not found. (Source 10)
  • Intranasal fluticasone propionate (clinical trial): This is a deliberate combination rather than an adverse interaction: adding a nasal corticosteroid to azelastine lowered nasal symptom scores more than either drug alone in a meta-analysis of 8 randomised trials. (Source 5)
  • Supplements, foods and grapefruit (label): We found no documented interaction between azelastine and any dietary supplement or food. The drug-interactions section of the US nasal-spray label contains only one entry, central nervous system depressants, and names no food or supplement. The product is applied to the nose or eye and the label states no contraindications at all. An absence of documented interactions is not proof that none exists. (Source 8)
  • Soft contact lenses (ophthalmic product) (label): The preservative benzalkonium chloride in the eye drop can be taken up by soft contact lenses, so the label advises waiting at least ten minutes after instilling the drop before inserting lenses, and not wearing lenses at all while the eye is red. (Source 4)

Stopping it

  • We found no literature describing dependence, a withdrawal syndrome, or rebound congestion on stopping azelastine, and the nasal-spray label records no contraindications and no withdrawal warning. Rebound congestion (rhinitis medicamentosa) is a problem of topical decongestants, not of topical antihistamines, and nothing in this label attributes it to azelastine. The only stopping-related instruction in the label is practical: the spray needs re-priming if it has not been used for three or more days. (Source 11)
  • Discontinuation in the trials was driven by side effects rather than by any withdrawal effect, and it was no commoner than on placebo: 2.2% of patients on azelastine stopped for adverse reactions versus 2.8% on vehicle placebo. (Source 12)

What goes wrong

Bitter taste affected 19.7% of patients on azelastine nasal spray versus 0.6% on vehicle placebo - about 1 extra person tasting it badly for every 5 treated. (Source 13)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 391 on azelastine, 353 on vehicle placebo, pooled from six trials.
  • Who: patients aged 12 years and older with seasonal allergic rhinitis, 2 sprays per nostril twice daily.
  • How long: 2 days to 8 weeks.
  • Result: Bitter taste 77 (19.7%) vs 2 (0.6%); headache 58 (14.8%) vs 45 (12.7%); somnolence 45 (11.5%) vs 19 (5.4%); nasal burning 16 (4.1%) vs 6 (1.7%); weight increase 8 (2.0%) vs 0 (0.0%)
  • Funding: manufacturer's pooled trial data as recorded on the label published Sep 10, 2026.

Limit of this finding: These figures come from Table 1 on the label. In our record the table is held as a list, and the two entries after each reaction name are, in order, the count and percentage among the 391 patients given azelastine 2 sprays per nostril twice daily, then among the 353 given vehicle placebo. The column labels sit at the top of the recorded table, not beside each row, so the order is what tells drug from placebo.

Bitter Taste 77 (19.7%) 2 (0.6%) Headache 58 (14.8%) 45 (12.7%)

Somnolence occurred in 11.5% of patients on the two-spray dose versus 5.4% on placebo, and the label warns against driving or operating machinery after use. (Source 13)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 391 on azelastine, 353 on vehicle placebo.
  • Who: patients aged 12 years and older with seasonal allergic rhinitis on 2 sprays per nostril twice daily.
  • How long: 2 days to 8 weeks.
  • Result: Somnolence 45 (11.5%) vs 19 (5.4%) - an excess of 6.1 percentage points, about 16 treated per extra case. At the lower one-spray dose, somnolence was reported in 0.4% versus none on placebo and bitter taste in 8.3% versus none.
  • Funding: manufacturer's pooled trial data as recorded on the label.

Limit of this finding: These figures come from Table 1 on the label. In our record the table is held as a list, and the two entries after each reaction name are, in order, the count and percentage among the 391 patients given azelastine 2 sprays per nostril twice daily, then among the 353 given vehicle placebo. The column labels sit at the top of the recorded table, not beside each row, so the order is what tells drug from placebo.

Somnolence 45 (11.5%) 19 (5.4%) Nasal Burning 16 (4.1%) 6 (1.7%)

At the lower one-spray-per-nostril dose, side effects were much less frequent - bitter taste 8.3% and somnolence 0.4% - showing the harms are dose-related. (Source 14)

  • Randomized trial, Low certainty.
  • Size: 276 patients across two placebo-controlled 2-week studies.
  • Who: patients aged 12 years and older with seasonal allergic rhinitis on one spray per nostril twice daily.
  • How long: 2 weeks.
  • Result: Bitter taste 8.3% vs none on placebo; somnolence 0.4% vs none; discontinuation for adverse reactions 0.0% vs 0.8%.
  • Funding: manufacturer's pooled trial data as recorded on the label.

Bitter taste was reported in 8.3% of patients compared to none in the placebo group. Somnolence was reported in 0.4% of patients compared to none in the placebo group.

Azelastine eye drops caused transient eye burning or stinging in about 30% of patients in controlled studies. (Source 15)

  • Randomized trial, Low certainty.
  • Size: not stated in the label section we read.
  • Who: patients treated with azelastine 0.05% ophthalmic solution.
  • How long: up to 56 days.
  • Result: Transient eye burning/stinging about 30%, headache about 15%, bitter taste about 10%; events generally mild. Asthma, conjunctivitis, dyspnoea, eye pain, fatigue, influenza-like symptoms, pharyngitis, pruritus, rhinitis and temporary blurring each in 1 to 10%.
  • Funding: manufacturer's trial data as recorded on the label published Sep 10, 2026; no placebo comparison rates are given for these figures.

the most frequently reported adverse reactions were transient eye burning/stinging (approximately 30%), headaches (approximately 15%) and bitter taste (approximately 10%)

In children aged 5 to 11, rhinitis or cold symptoms, cough, conjunctivitis and asthma were all reported more often on azelastine than on placebo. (Source 16)

  • Randomized trial, Low certainty.
  • Size: 176 children aged 5 to 11 across 3 placebo-controlled studies.
  • Who: children aged 5 to 11 years, one spray per nostril twice daily.
  • How long: not stated in the label section.
  • Result: Rhinitis/cold symptoms 17.0% vs 9.5%; cough 11.4% vs 8.3%; conjunctivitis 5.1% vs 1.8%; asthma 4.5% vs 4.1%.
  • Funding: manufacturer's pooled trial data as recorded on the label.

Limit of this finding: The label sentence refers to reactions 'not represented in the adult adverse reactions table above'. That table is Table 1, which this write-up records as a separate entry, so there is nothing 'above' in this passage. The comparison is against the adult table, and the two percentages in each bracket are azelastine first, placebo second.

rhinitis/cold symptoms (17.0% vs. 9.5%), cough (11.4% vs. 8.3%), conjunctivitis (5.1% vs. 1.8%), and asthma (4.5% vs. 4.1%)

What the evidence supports

Azelastine nasal spray beat placebo for allergic rhinitis with a number needed to treat of 5, but the effect size on total symptom score was modest. (Source 2)

  • Meta-analysis, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: five placebo comparisons plus 11 active-comparator studies, drawn from published randomised trials.
  • Who: patients aged at least 12 (US) or 16 (Europe) years with allergic rhinitis or non-allergic vasomotor rhinitis.
  • How long: varies by trial, not stated in the abstract.
  • Result: Summary number needed to treat versus placebo 5.0 (95% CI 3.3-10.0); effect size on total symptom score 0.36 (95% CI 0.26-0.46)
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; the review searched only PubMed-MEDLINE and only English-language reports, which risks publication and language bias.

In five comparisons of azelastine and placebo, azelastine was most efficacious, with a summary number needed to treat of 5.0 (95% confidence interval [CI] 3.3-10.0).

The combination of intranasal azelastine with fluticasone propionate reduced nasal symptom scores more than azelastine alone, fluticasone alone, or placebo. (Source 5)

  • Systematic review, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 8 randomised controlled trials.
  • Who: males and females of all ages with allergic rhinitis.
  • How long: varies by trial.
  • Result: Mean change from baseline in Total Nasal Symptom Score versus placebo -2.41 (95% CI -2.82 to -1.99, P < .001, I2 = 60%); versus azelastine -1.40 (95% CI -1.82 to -0.98, P < .001, I2 = 0%); versus fluticasone -0.74 (95% CI -1.17 to -0.31, P < .001, I2 = 12%)
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; the review reports risk of bias as generally low, and substantial heterogeneity (I2 = 60%) in the placebo comparison.

Meta-analysis revealed superiority of combination therapy in reducing Total Nasal Symptom Score compared to placebo (mean change from baseline: -2.41; 95% confidence interval [CI], -2.82 to -1.99; P < .001; I2 = 60%)

In a single-centre phase 2 trial, azelastine nasal spray three times daily reduced PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection from 6.7% to 2.2% over 56 days - an absolute reduction of 4.5 percentage points, about 22 people treated per infection avoided. (Source 6)

  • Randomized trial, Low certainty.
  • Size: 450 participants (227 azelastine, 223 placebo)
  • Who: healthy adults from the general population in Germany; mean age 33.0 years, 66.4% female, 92.7% White.
  • How long: 56 days.
  • Result: PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection 5 (2.2%) vs 15 (6.7%); odds ratio 0.31 (95% CI 0.11-0.87); PCR-confirmed rhinovirus infection 1.8% vs 6.3%; adverse events comparable.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract we read; single-centre phase 2 trial, EudraCT 2022-003756-13, and the authors state larger multicentre confirmation is needed.

the incidence of PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection was significantly lower in the azelastine group (n = 5 [2.2%]) compared with the placebo group (n = 15 [6.7%]) (OR, 0.31; 95% CI, 0.11-0.87)

What the evidence does not support

Azelastine nasal spray was not better than active comparator drugs for allergic rhinitis; the pooled number needed to treat was 66.7 with a confidence interval spanning no benefit. (Source 2)

  • Meta-analysis, Low certainty.
  • Size: 11 studies of azelastine versus active comparators.
  • Who: patients with allergic rhinitis.
  • How long: varies by trial.
  • Result: Number needed to treat 66.7, 95% CI 14.3 to infinity to 25 - an interval that includes no benefit.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract.

Limit of this finding: The confidence interval is printed in the abstract as '95% CI 14.3 to infinity to 25'. That is a flattened rendering of an interval running from a number needed to treat of 14.3, through infinity (meaning no difference at all), to a number needed to harm of 25. Read it as: the data are compatible with azelastine being modestly better than the comparator drugs, with no difference, or with it being modestly worse. The point estimate of 66.7 is not a usable number needed to treat on its own.

In reviewing 11 studies of azelastine versus active comparators, we found no significant difference between azelastine and active comparators (number needed to treat 66.7, 95% CI 14.3 to infinity to 25).

In people who already had mild COVID-19, azelastine nasal spray produced no difference in hospitalisation - there were none in either arm - and the day-11 virus-load figures the abstract reports are too close together, and too inconsistently described, to show a meaningful difference. (Source 7)

  • Randomized trial, Low certainty.
  • Size: 294 subjects screened and randomised 1:1.
  • Who: non-hospitalised people with mild COVID-19.
  • How long: 11 treatment days.
  • Result: No COVID-19-related hospitalisation in either arm, so the stated primary comparison had zero events on both sides. At day 11 the abstract gives log10 5.93 (azelastine) versus log10 5.85 (placebo) copies/mL, p = 0.0041, describing these as reductions; they are almost certainly absolute day-11 loads and the abstract is internally inconsistent here (see caveat). Adverse events reported by 32.0% vs 31.0% of subjects.
  • Funding: not stated in the abstract; phase 2, and the stated primary comparison (hospitalisation rate) yielded zero events in both arms.

Limit of this finding: The abstract calls '5.93 vs. 5.85 log10 copies/mL' the reduction in virus load at day 11 in the azelastine and placebo groups. Figures that size are almost certainly the absolute day-11 viral loads, not reductions: a fall of nearly 6 log10 copies/mL in both arms is not plausible, and a gap of 0.08 log10 would not normally be described as a significantly larger reduction. The abstract as published is internally inconsistent and we could not resolve it without the full paper. Read this as showing no clinically meaningful difference in virus load between the two sprays, and do not read it as a reduction of 5.93 log10 copies/mL.

There was no incidence of COVID-19-related hospitalization in either treatment group.

Intranasal azelastine at the approved dose did not prolong the QT interval, and co-administering erythromycin or ketoconazole with oral azelastine had no effect on QTc - a documented absence of a cardiac interaction. (Source 10)

  • Randomized trial, Moderate certainty.
  • Size: 95 subjects in the placebo-controlled nasal-spray study; interaction study sizes not stated.
  • Who: subjects with allergic rhinitis (nasal spray study); healthy subjects on oral azelastine (interaction studies)
  • How long: 56 days for the nasal spray study.
  • Result: No evidence of an effect on QTc with 2 sprays per nostril twice daily for 56 days. With oral azelastine 4 mg or 8 mg twice daily, mean QTc change 7.2 msec and 3.6 msec. Erythromycin and ketoconazole had no effect on QTc.
  • Funding: manufacturer's trial data as recorded on the label.

Limit of this finding: The label reports a mean QTc change of 7.2 msec on oral azelastine 4 mg twice daily and 3.6 msec on 8 mg twice daily - the bigger change at the smaller dose. We checked the label and the figures and their dose order are exactly as printed, so the oddity belongs to the label, not to this write-up. It means these oral QTc numbers show no dose-response, and nothing here supports the idea that a higher dose is safer for the heart. The finding here rests on the intranasal study and the two interaction studies, not on those two oral figures.

Interaction studies investigating the cardiac repolarization effects of concomitantly administered oral azelastine hydrochloride and erythromycin or ketoconazole were conducted. These drugs had no effect on QTc based on analysis of serial electrocardiograms.

Where the research disagrees

Whether azelastine nasal spray offers any advantage over other allergic rhinitis treatments

  • Lee and Corren, Pharmacotherapy 2007 meta-analysis, meta-analysis of published randomised trials, English-language PubMed-MEDLINE only: No significant differences were observed between azelastine and active comparators for the treatment of allergic rhinitis; however, when azelastine was compared with oral antihistamines as monotherapy, the trend favored azelastine. (Source 17)
  • Debbaneh and colleagues, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery 2019 systematic review and meta-analysis, systematic review and meta-analysis of 8 randomised trials of the azelastine-fluticasone combination: Current evidence supports both efficacy and superiority of combination intranasal azelastine and fluticasone in reducing patient-reported symptom scores in patients with allergic rhinitis. (Source 18)

Whether azelastine nasal spray does anything useful against respiratory viruses

  • Phase 2 prophylaxis trial, JAMA Internal Medicine 2025, single-centre phase 2 randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 450 healthy adults: the incidence of PCR-confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection was significantly lower in the azelastine group (n = 5 [2.2%]) compared with the placebo group (n = 15 [6.7%]) (OR, 0.31; 95% CI, 0.11-0.87) (Source 6)
  • Phase 2 treatment trial in mild COVID-19, Viruses 2024, multicentre phase 2 randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 294 people with mild COVID-19: There was no incidence of COVID-19-related hospitalization in either treatment group. Mean virus load was significantly reduced in both groups during the 11 treatment days as compared with baseline viral load values. (Source 7)

How much

  • Reference intake: Dosing is set by the prescriber or by the product's own directions. As a position, the US nasal-spray label (version published Sep 10, 2026) states one or two sprays per nostril twice daily for seasonal allergic rhinitis in adults and adolescents 12 years and older, and one spray per nostril twice daily for children 5 to 11 years. (Source 19)
  • Upper limit: As a position, the highest regimen stated anywhere on the nasal-spray label is two sprays per nostril twice daily, which is the stated dosage for vasomotor rhinitis in adults and adolescents 12 years and older; for the eye drop it is one drop in each affected eye twice a day. The label separately records that intranasal doses above two sprays per nostril twice daily produced greater-than-proportional increases in blood levels. (Source 20)
  • Studied: The pooled safety trials gave 2 sprays per nostril twice daily to 391 patients aged 12 and over with seasonal allergic rhinitis, for 2 days to 8 weeks. (Source 12)
  • Studied: The COVID-19 prophylaxis trial gave azelastine 0.1% nasal spray three times daily for 56 days to 227 healthy adults, against placebo in 223. (Source 21)
  • Studied: The eye drop was studied in controlled multiple-dose studies of up to 56 days at one drop in each affected eye twice a day. (Source 15)

A common belief, and what the research shows

The belief: A nasal spray only works in the nose, so it cannot make you drowsy.

What the research shows: About 40% of an intranasal azelastine dose reaches the bloodstream - the label states "After intranasal administration, the systemic bioavailability of azelastine hydrochloride is approximately 40%." - and the trials show systemic effects. Somnolence was reported in 11.5% of patients on two sprays per nostril twice daily against 5.4% on vehicle placebo, and the label carries a specific warning: "Patients should be cautioned against engaging in hazardous occupations requiring complete mental alertness and motor coordination such as operating machinery or driving a motor vehicle after administration of azelastine hydrochloride nasal spray." The effect is dose-related: at one spray per nostril twice daily, "Somnolence was reported in 0.4% of patients compared to none in the placebo group."

Questions and answers

What is it?

Azelastine is an antihistamine applied directly where the allergy symptoms are: as a metered nasal spray for hay fever and non-allergic runny nose, or as eye drops for itchy allergic eyes. Each nasal spray delivers 137 mcg. It is also sold combined with a nasal steroid in one device, and some nasal products are available without a prescription. (Source 3)

What does it do in the body?

It blocks the histamine H1 receptor, so the histamine released during an allergic reaction cannot trigger sneezing, itching and a runny nose. Its main metabolite blocks the same receptor. Although it is sprayed or dropped on locally, about 40% of a nasal dose is absorbed into the bloodstream, which is why drowsiness is possible. (Source 1)

Is it good or bad for you?

It helps allergic rhinitis more than placebo, with a number needed to treat of about 5 on a global assessment of efficacy, but a meta-analysis of 11 studies found it no better than other active treatments. The downside is tolerability rather than danger: nearly one in five people taste it as bitter and about one in nine feel sleepy at the two-spray dose, both well above placebo, and both much less frequent at one spray per nostril. The nasal-spray label records no contraindications and no boxed warning. (Source 2)

How do you get more of it?

Azelastine is a manufactured medicine, taken only as the nasal spray or eye drop; there is no dietary or behavioural route to it. The label's stated regimen is one or two sprays per nostril twice daily for seasonal allergic rhinitis in people 12 and over, one spray per nostril twice daily for children 5 to 11, and one drop per affected eye twice daily for the ophthalmic solution. Going above two sprays per nostril twice daily raises blood levels disproportionately. (Source 22)

If it is harmful, what reduces it?

If azelastine is causing trouble, the documented response is to stop using it; there is no withdrawal effect to manage. The drug has an elimination half-life of about 22 hours, so it clears over a few days, and about 75% of an oral dose leaves in the faeces. In the trials, stopping for side effects was no commoner on azelastine (2.2%) than on vehicle placebo (2.8%). (Source 12)

Why might someone be low in it or missing it?

This question is about nutrients rather than medicines, so it does not apply directly. The closest equivalent is why a dose may not reach the tissue it should: the spray needs priming with 4 sprays before first use and re-priming with 2 sprays if it has gone unused for three or more days, otherwise it may not deliver a full dose at all. (Source 11)

Which whole foods contain it or feed it?

No whole food contains azelastine; it is a synthetic phthalazinone made in a factory. We found no food, drink or supplement documented to raise or lower its effect. The only ingestion-related caution on the label is alcohol, which should be avoided because it adds to the drug's effect on alertness. (Source 8)

What happens if you do not have it?

Almost nobody needs azelastine; it treats symptoms rather than correcting a deficiency. Without it, someone with seasonal allergic rhinitis would have more nasal symptoms than they would on the spray - the meta-analysis put the number needed to treat at 5 for a global efficacy response - but equally there are several other effective treatments, and the same review found azelastine no better than active comparators. Nothing in the literature describes harm from never using it. (Source 2)

How can you test for it?

There is no clinical blood test for azelastine levels and no monitoring test required by its label, which lists no laboratory tests at all. The relevant tests are for the underlying allergy - skin prick testing or specific IgE - not for the drug. Blood levels have been measured in pharmacokinetic studies (bioavailability about 40% after intranasal use, peak at 2-3 hours, half-life about 22 hours), but these are research measurements rather than clinical tests. (Source 23)

We searched: We searched Europe PMC for azelastine therapeutic drug monitoring and reviewed the full US prescribing information for both the nasal spray and the ophthalmic solution; neither label specifies any laboratory monitoring, and we found no validated clinical assay described.

References

  1. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 12.1 Mechanism of Action. 2026. Read the source
  2. Pharmacotherapy. Meta-analysis of azelastine nasal spray for the treatment of allergic rhinitis.. 2007. PMID 17542768, DOI 10.1592/phco.27.6.852. Read the source
  3. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE. 2026. Read the source
  4. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE solution/ drops (ophthalmic) [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information. 2026. Read the source
  5. Otolaryngology--head and neck surgery : official journal of American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. Intranasal Azelastine and Fluticasone as Combination Therapy for Allergic Rhinitis: Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.. 2019. PMID 30961435, DOI 10.1177/0194599819841883. Read the source
  6. JAMA internal medicine. Azelastine Nasal Spray for Prevention of SARS-CoV-2 Infections: A Phase 2 Randomized Clinical Trial.. 2025. PMID 40892398, DOI 10.1001/jamainternmed.2025.4283. Read the source
  7. Viruses. Azelastine Nasal Spray in Non-Hospitalized Subjects with Mild COVID-19 Infection: A Randomized Placebo-Controlled, Parallel-Group, Multicentric, Phase II Clinical Trial.. 2024. PMID 39772221, DOI 10.3390/v16121914. Read the source
  8. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 7.1 Central Nervous System Depressants. 2026. Read the source
  9. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 5.1 Somnolence in Activities Requiring Mental Alertness. 2026. Read the source
  10. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 12.2 Pharmacodynamics (Cardiac Electrophysiology). 2026. Read the source
  11. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 2.3 Important Administration Instructions. 2026. Read the source
  12. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience (Seasonal Allergic Rhinitis, two sprays per nostril twice daily). 2026. Read the source
  13. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience, Table 1. 2026. Read the source
  14. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience (one spray per nostril twice daily). 2026. Read the source
  15. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE solution/ drops (ophthalmic) [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information. 2026. Read the source
  16. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience (pediatric patients 5 to 11 years). 2026. Read the source
  17. Pharmacotherapy. Meta-analysis of azelastine nasal spray for the treatment of allergic rhinitis.. 2007. PMID 17542768, DOI 10.1592/phco.27.6.852. Read the source
  18. Otolaryngology--head and neck surgery : official journal of American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. Intranasal Azelastine and Fluticasone as Combination Therapy for Allergic Rhinitis: Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.. 2019. PMID 30961435, DOI 10.1177/0194599819841883. Read the source
  19. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 2.1 Seasonal Allergic Rhinitis. 2026. Read the source
  20. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 2.2 Vasomotor Rhinitis. 2026. Read the source
  21. JAMA internal medicine. Azelastine Nasal Spray for Prevention of SARS-CoV-2 Infections: A Phase 2 Randomized Clinical Trial.. 2025. PMID 40892398, DOI 10.1001/jamainternmed.2025.4283. Read the source
  22. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 12.3 Pharmacokinetics. 2026. Read the source
  23. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label version published Sep 10, 2026). AZELASTINE HYDROCHLORIDE spray, metered [Apotex Corp.] - FDA prescribing information - Section 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS. 2026. Read the source
Share

0:00/0:00